Elegy for Easterly – I want more…

Despite the success of Engleby, I decided to treat myself to a pretty cover with my latest read. I certainly wasn’t disappointed. Petina Gappah’s debut is as beautiful inside as it is outside. An effortless and engaging read, I couldn’t get enough of Elegy for Easterly and I was sorry when I’d finished it.

I think the thing I liked most about it was that Gappah keeps it really simple. There’s no attempt at a grand, overarching narrative. There’s no big revelation at the end. It’s more of a snapshot of life and Gappah writes with such style that she makes it riveting. As I was reading it, the book won the Guardian First Book Award- a great choice, in my opinion. I think there are great things to come from Petina Gappah- and I really hope she hurries up and writes another book soon.

Buy this book

1 Comment

Filed under fiction

One response to “Elegy for Easterly – I want more…

  1. I haven’t seen anyone mention this book before – it looks like a great read. Thank you for bringing it to my attention!

Leave a Reply

